Warning : Valid only for TEAM / ENTERPRISE plans 

One of the GenMyModel key features is Real-Time Collaboration. It allows you to work together on the same project in real-time, as in Google Drive. Collaborators see the changes in real-time.


In this tutorial we will see how to start collaborate in GenMyModel through some very simple steps.


Let's suppose that you have already a GenMyModel account with a SOLO (free) plan and you would like to invite someone from around the world to work together on your project in real-time. 


So, where to begin?


1. Plan Upgrade


First of all, you need to subscribe for a TEAM or ENTERPRISE plan, depending on your needs, from the Subscription page of the GenMyModel dashboard.



2. Invite users to join your organization


Note : If you didn't sign up using a Google or a GitHub account, before inviting collaborators, think to confirm your e-mail address through a validation link you will receive at registration


Path: Organization / Members / Invite users to join


Once your subscription is done you will be able to create a new organization in the Organizations page.

Click on to open it and in the Members tab press the  Add Members  button, enter one or more e-mail addresses (separated by commas only) and validate.



Until the invitation is not confirmed, you will appear as Invited user, not a Member.




3. Create a Team


Path : Organization > Team > Create a new team > Add members 


In case you need to assign a project to an entire team, you need first to create it.

Click on the Teams tab and press the  Create a new team  button. Once the team is created, you can add members from your organization into the team ( Add members  button). 


4. Add member(s) / team(s) to a model


Path : Projects > Settings > Add Collaborators 


Finally, the last step consists in adding members to a project. Open the Projects page, press on the project name or on the settings button (key icon).



Then press on the  Add collaborators  button and enter the member username or team name. When ready, press Add collaborators button to confirm. That's all.



Info: Shared for collaboration models will appear in the users Projects page only after accepting the invitation to become a member of an organization 


5. How to see joined collaborators?


When someone joins or leaves the same model, there is a pop-up message which appears briefly at the top.



All the connected collaborators are visible on the top right side of the horizontal toolbar, with different colors and the username first letter. And when one collaborator is selecting an object, it  highlights  for the others.



6. Discussion Side Panel


In the upper right corner you'll find the Discussion side panel. It can be used as a chat and a notepad at the same time, to discuss, leave notes or comments about your project.


7. Collaborators Permission Levels


The owner of the model has a control over the use of the model by the collaborators and can change the rights of each collaborator at any time.



Check the permissions table below for main differences.


RoleView Project Versions / PropertiesView Project ContentModify / Create Project ContentModify Project Properties
AdministratorYESYESYESYES
Can EditYESYESYESNO
Can ViewYESYESNONO
Can Only View VersionsYESNONONO
Collaborators Permission Levels  



Watch Model History of your collaborators

Restore previous version